Atlético Madrid

Atletico Madrid Club Summary

Atlético Madrid are the 2020-21 La Liga champions, edging rival Real Madrid by two points on the table, this being their 11th top flight silverware. Founded in 1903, the club currently holds their home matches at the Wanda Metropolitano Stadium. 

Other achievements Atlético have garnered in their storied history include a league and cup double in 1996, one of their ten Copa del Rey titles. Although the best they have gone at the UEFA Champions League is finishing runner up on three occasions, they have won the UEFA Europa League thrice, all in the 2010s. Those victories led them to three UEFA Super Cup victories. 

Luis Aragonés is Atleti’s all-time scoring leader with 172 goals. Among active players, Antoine Griezmann leads the way with more than 130 goals to his name. 

Another interesting fact about the club is that they co-own football clubs in other countries, namely Atlético San Luis in Mexico and Atlético Ottawa in Canada.